Notifiable Diseases

Virus particles in the bloodstreamThe Health Act 1956 requires medical practices and other agencies or institutions, to report the following notifiable disease types to the local Medical Officer of Health:

  • Common enterics (e.g. Campylobacter, Salmonella, Giardia, Cryptosporidium, Yersinia)
  • Serious enteric (e.g. Typhoid, Shigella, Cholera, Paratyphoid, Listeria, Hepatitis A)
  • Vaccine preventable (e.g. Measles, Mumps, Pertussis/Whooping Cough, Rubella)
  • Other Serious (e.g. Meningitis, Legionella, Mosquito borne, Avian Influenza, Hepatitis B and C)

The Communicable Disease Team’s response depends on the seriousness of the disease, and could involve:

  • A postal or phone questionnaire, hospital visit and/or interview
  • Taking samples from an infected person to discover if they are contagious or are no longer infected.
  • An investigation into the source of the infection.
  • Offering preventative medication to people who have been in contact with an infected person.

Contact the Communicable Disease staff at your local office for further information:

Ph: +64 3 364 1777
Fax: +64 3 379 6484

Ph: +64 3 687 2600
Fax: +64 3 688 6091

Ph: +64 3 768 1160
Fax: +64 3 768 1169

Page last updated: 12/09/2016

Copyright © 2017, Community & Public Health, Site by Wired